Personal | Why a blog (again)?

2210503508_c9e92ff053_z

I’m pretty sure this is going to be my fifth attempt at running a blog — why even bother, right? But it’s an ache I just can’t ignore.

I am very passionate about my hobbies and interests. The music I listen to, the shows I watch, the things I keep myself busy with. I love rambling about it, I love sharing my opinions on them and I love finding places to simply let it all out, both the good and the bad. Lately, I’ve found that I don’t have a lot of chances to do so. I wouldn’t say that I’m bottling it all up, but goodness, I just want a place to vent about the things I love! My own place to vent. And that’s why I’ve decided to give this a go again, and to really invest some more time in it, because I will wholeheartedly admit it: I am quite lazy sometimes, even about the things I adore.

Make-up is definitely one of my biggest passions. My love for it started growing over the years and now I’m at a point where I just love to experiment, to try new things and new brands, and to express myself more through cosmetics. I’m no longer afraid of backlash or looking ridiculous, because I genuinely enjoy dolling myself up a bit and looking in the mirror, only to think: yeah, I do look good today. Not to mention the excitement when new products are announced to come out, or when you finally get your hands on them and can’t wait to try them the next day.

In case anyone was interested in a bit of an introduction, my name is Kiki. I’m eighteen years old and I’m from the Netherlands, you know, that country known for all of its bad things (and stroopwafels) as long as it isn’t spelled the wrong way. I am currently studying Social Studies, another passion of mine, because helping people is what I truly think is my calling. And who says that has to be extreme? If I can help someone out by giving a few tips and tricks, or by sharing my opinions on how a certain product works best, then why wouldn’t I share it? I know it’s helped me before.

I have an unhealthy obsession with lipstick. It really is my favorite beauty product of all — if I had to wear only one thing for the rest of my life, it would be lipstick. Chances are, you’ll see a lot of lipstick on this blog! I’m also very into trying new things out, so there will be a variety of products and brands on this little internet cloud.

But in the end, I really just want my own cozy place to show what I love. Like a small collection, not just in my drawers but in pictures and words as well. I’ve missed writing my heart out. But why in English, when Dutch is my native language? Because over the years, after writing stories and websites in English, I find it easier to express myself in English. Maybe I will switch back to Dutch one day, but for now, I also want to keep my posts open for anyone, anywhere.

Love,
Kiki.

2 gedachtes over “Personal | Why a blog (again)?

    • I’ll go check out your blog and thanks, girl! I haven’t taken to Bloglovin’ yet, I want to create a little space here first and then figure out what else is out there, haha!

      Like

Geef een reactie

